Home - March on Milwaukee - Wisconsin History - Thoen - LibGuides at Waterford Union High School

Project Description & Rubric

Mrs. Thoen's March on Milwaukee project description guide

"As we begin to investigate the legacy of the Civil Righs Movement in Milwaukee, you are invited to enlighten the class with the changemakers and events of the non-violent movement from the state level. Inspired by the Wisconsin Historical Society's "Freedom Summer" banners,your group will create a banner to dsiplay your research."

WUHS Databases

Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection
Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries
Infobase Learning - World News Digest
Facts On File World News Digest is a permanent record of the essential facts of the news as reported in the major newspapers, news magazines, and online news outlets of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world.
After searching for keywords about your topic, be sure to set an approximate date range

Helpful Websites

Cite Your Sources of Information - MLA

Purdue Owl Online Writing Lab - How to Cite Electronic Sources in MLA

For example, this is how you would cite an article from a subscription database:

AN ARTICLE FROM AN ONLINE DATABASE (OR OTHER ELECTRONIC SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE)

Cite online databases (e.g. Badgerlink databases) and other subscription services as containers. Thus, provide the title of the database italicized before the DOI or URL. If a DOI is not provided, use the URL instead. Provide the date of access if you wish:

Alonso, Alvaro, and Julio A. Camargo. “Toxicity of Nitrite to Three Species of Freshwater

Invertebrates.” Environmental Toxicology, vol. 21, no. 1, 3 Feb. 2006, pp. 90-94. Wiley Online

Library, https://doi.org/10.1002/tox.20155. Accessed 26 May 2009.

Milwaukee Civil Rights Books from other libraries

Father Groppi by Stuart Stotts
ISBN: 9780870205842
Publication Date: 2013-02-25
Meet Father Groppi -- Early Years -- Entering the Priesthood -- The National Civil Rights Movement -- Selma -- Becoming a Milwaukee Organizer -- The Eagles Club Protests -- The Fair Housing Campaign -- Across the Great Divide -- Priest and Leader -- After the Marches
The Selma of the North by Patrick D. Jones
ISBN: 9780674031357
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Introduction -- Ethnic Milwaukee and the Black community -- Early protest politics -- The campaign to end school segregation -- Father Groppi's civil rights awakening -- The Youth Council and Commandos -- Police-community tensions and the 1967 riot -- The struggle for open housing -- Black power politics -- The decline of direct action --
200 Nights and One Day by Dick Gregory (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780981516318
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
This book of poetry presents a brilliant analysis which takes us through the brave history of the strength, commitment and passion of the people of Milwaukee, Wisconsin as they marched, struggled and were jailed to win the victory of justice and freedom for all.
Raised in the Game by Sterling Daniels (Characters created by, As told by, Cover Design by, Original Author, Prepared for Publication by, Produced by); Raised In The Game (Volume Editor, Revised by, Reviewed by, Produced by, Prepared for Publication by, (various roles))
ISBN: 9780692860496
Publication Date: 2017-03-18
Sterling Daniels was born June 11, 1954: he is the fourth of six children. He spent most of his life between Chicago, IL and Milwaukee WI, where he grew up in the streets during the Civil Rights Movement in the 60s, experiencing discrimination, segregation and racism.
The Young Crusaders by V. P. Franklin
ISBN: 9780807040072
Publication Date: 2021-02-23
Children and teenagers : foot soldiers for democracy -- Youth and civil rights activism before the Brown decision -- Grace under pressure : children, teenagers, and school desegregation -- High school students and nonviolent direct-action protests -- The Birmingham children's crusade and Southern student activism -- Freedom Day boycotts : Chicago, Boston, and New York City -- Every child a freedom soldier : Cleveland, Milwaukee, and Mississippi -- Police brutality, Black self-defense, and student activism -- Civil rights, Black power, and increasing youth militancy -- "Keep stirring up good trouble".
Blue Jenkins by Julia Pferdehirt
ISBN: 9780870204272
Publication Date: 2011-10-26
"When William "Blue" Jenkins was only six months old, he moved with his parents from a Mississippi sharecropper's farm to the industrial city of Racine, Wisconsin with dreams of a new life. As an African-American in the pre-civil rights era, Blue came face to face with racism: the Ku Klux Klan hung a black figure in effigy from a tree in the Jenkins family's yard. Growing up, Blue knew where blacks could shop, eat, and get a job in Racine--and where they couldn't.
Justice for All by Lloyd A. Barbee; Daphne E. Barbee-Wooten (Editor)
ISBN: 9780870208386
Publication Date: 2017-10-30
"Civil rights leader and state legislator Lloyd Barbee often signed his letters with "Justice for All," a phrase that was emblematic of his work. Best known for his work litigating desegregation of Milwaukee Public Schools, he went on to serve in the state assembly, where he legislated on civil rights issues ranging from housing and employment discrimination to reparations for African Americans and indigenous people.
George Wallace in Wisconsin by Benjamin J. Hubing
ISBN: 9781467151375
Publication Date: 2022-02-14
Wallace weaponized states' rights, arguing that the federal government should stay out of school segregation, promote law and order, restrict forced busing, and reduce burdensome taxation. White working-class Wisconsinites armed themselves with Wallace's rhetoric, pushing back on changes that threatened the status quo. Civil rights activists and the Black community in Wisconsin armed themselves with a different constitutional principle, equal protection, to push for strong federal protection of their civil rights. This clash of ideals nearly became literal as protests and counter-protests erupted until gradually diminishing as Wallace's political fortunes waned.
The Mayor Who Made Milwaukee Famous by Henry W. Maier
ISBN: 9780819186218
Publication Date: 1993-01-15
Mayor of Milwaukee for 28 years and past president of the National League of cities, the U.S. Conference of Mayors, and the U.S. Conference of Democratic Mayors, Maier uses the urban policies of the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Carter administrations and the lack of policy during the Reagan and Bush administrations, as context for his experiences. He examines conflicts over the Milwaukee Industrial Land Bank Program, Wisconsin's shared tax system, race riots, open housing policies, garbage contracts, prison sitting, and the Milwaukee Bucks, as well as his own electoral battles.
Blue Jenkins by Julia Pferdehirt
ISBN: 9780870206573
Publication Date: 2013-06-19
When William "Blue" Jenkins was only six months old, he moved with his parents from a Mississippi sharecropper's farm to the industrial city of Racine, Wisconsin with dreams of a new life. As an African-American in the pre–civil rights era, Blue came face to face with racism: the Ku Klux Klan hung a black figure in effigy from a tree in the Jenkins family's yard. Growing up, Blue knew where blacks could shop, eat, and get a job in Racine—and where they couldn't. The injustices that confronted Blue in his young life would drive his desire to make positive changes to his community and workplace in adulthood.